Armenian Uniate Succession

The original foundation of the Holy Apostolic Church of Armenia may be traced to Sts. Thaddeus and Eustatius (two of the Seventy).
The honor of converting the Armenians, as a nation, to Christ, was gained by St. Gregory the Diuminator, who is 302 was consecrated Archbishop of Etchmiadzme by St. Leontius Exarch of Caesarea in Cappadocia, originally within the Patriarchate of Antioch, and afterward within that of Constantinople.
In 364, the Armenian church was granted full autonomy as an autocephalous catholicate within the One Holy and Apostolic Church under the Patriarch of Etchmiadzine, Supreme Catholicos of all the Armenians.
In the 12th century, some of the Armenians began to contemplate union with Rome and the Catholicos was present as a guest of honor at the Latin Council of Antioch (1141) and later, at the Council of Florence (1439), formal union was proclaimed; but it remained a dead letter.
From 1701 attempts were made to found a Uniate body and in 1712, a line of Patriarchs of Cihcia of the Armenians was inaugurated by Rome in the person of Peter Abraham I, from which time the Armenian-Uniate Church has continued to this day.
  • During the reign of the Patriarch, Antonios Peter DC (Hassun):
  • Archbishop Charchorunian on April 23, 1878. consecrated:
  • Leon Chechemian, Mar Leon, who on November 2, 1987, consecrated:
  • Andrew Charles Albert McLaglan, Mar Andries, Fourth British Patriarch, who on June 4, 1922, consecrated:
  • Herbert James Monzani Heard, Mar Jacobus II, Fifth British Patriarch, who on June 13, 1943, consecrated:
  • William Bernard Crow, Mar Basilius Abdullah III. Patriarch of Antioch of the Ancient Orthodox Catholic Church, who on April 10, 1944, consecrated:
  • Hugh George de Willmott Newman, Mar Georgius I, who on July 6, 1956, consecrated:
  • Charles Dennis Boltwood, who on October 16, 1966, consecrated:
  • Albert J. Fuge, who of May 27, 1972, consecrated:
  • John Lawrence Brown, who on December 31, 1973, consecrated:
  • Donald Lawrence Jolly, who on March 16, 1980, consecrated:
  • Robert Vincent Bernard Dawe, who on October 18, 1981, consecrated:
  • Francis Thorne-Coley, who on August 20, 1998, consecrated:
  • Lee Allen Petersen, who on April 26, 2009 consecrated:
  • Mansell Christian Gilmore, who on January 30, 2011 consecrated:
  • Bryan Dennis Ouellette, Ph.D., in ecclesia, Nicholas III, Patriarch, by acclamanation and fiat, Holy Nicholean Church, Patriarch, by election and acclamanation, Holy Imperial Russian Orthodox Church in exile.